Book Connections

You snuck a flashlight under the covers to read by after bedtime. Or you read by the dim light from your digital alarm clock. Or maybe you boldly left your night table reading lamp on, after you carefully shoved pillows under the door, to covertly get in another chapter.

When we were children, we found all kinds of sneaky ways to race through the pages. Chapter books are very exciting after all. A few months ago, I got a text message from my sister informing me my niece is now doing the same thing. I couldn’t be prouder!

Generational sharing of books is exciting. I remember book shopping with my Grandma as a kid. Recently, my niece read Sideway Stories from Wayside School by Lewis Sachar. I loved those stories! They literally made me laugh out loud, shoot milk from my nose, and otherwise embarrass my mother when reading in public. I couldn’t have been happier my niece picked those tales up.

The local theater is currently performing the play adaptation. I took the opportunity to re-read the book(s) (See: Wayside School is Falling Down and Wayside School Gets a Little Stranger). They stood up pretty well even as an adult. I laughed, though not as loud. I sprinted from beginning to end, not realizing how in childhood I took each story as a stand-alone. The repetition of most children’s books was present. Gentle reminders of who each character is and how they relate to others (which any Russian novelist may wish to incorporate). Later, my niece and I laughed over our favorite characters.

Should you find yourself in a reading slump, I recommend a quick jaunt down memory lane, re-reading a favorite childhood book. It’ll only take an hour. Then share it with a kid you know.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

