A Cautionary Tale of Selling Your Books

“That’s it! I’m getting dumber friends!” said a bookselling pal of mine. She helped with the book transport of one of our fellow book-clubbers from one apartment to a new house. Understandably, it was backbreaking work.

I’m preparing to move within the next few months. My fella, who recently lost his apartment in a buyout from a co-op, moved in with me. After paring down his collection, he still has thirteen boxes of books in storage. My one bedroom apartment contains three enormous bookshelves (some with two rows per shelf) and piles on most hard surfaces. For appearances, I reduced the load by five boxes. Most of the culled went on to bookish friends or the local Goodwill.

However, I keep my graphic novels in pristine condition. Being an ex-bookseller, I know even my undesirables are still worth a lot. So I hauled them into one of the few bookstores that sell used books. Being my first time to resell books, I awkwardly stood in line, filled out my ticket, and waited to see what everyone else did.

Number five in line. It took an hour to complete the review of preceding resell items and my own.

An hour. In a bookstore. With no supervision. Do you see where I’m going with this? Utilizing every ounce of willpower, I walked out of the store purchasing only one book. They took everything I brought in and I still walked out with $30.00 in store credit. Unfortunately, the single book I purchased was The Daily Face: 25 Makeup Looks for Day, Night, and Everything In Between! By Annamarie Tendler. It’s a wonderful book but led to significantly higher financial investment than the $16.95 retail price (more about the true cost of the book next time).

Please, tell me I’m not the only one this has happened to! Share your story in the comments.

*You’ll note the boxes my books are in advise me to purchase a reading app. The irony is not lost on me. 

Leave a Reply

